IASFM 13

IASFM 13 Conference Program

IASFM 13 Information for Participants

~ ~ ~

The 13th IASFM Conference will be hosted by the Refugee Law Project (RLP), Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda, on July 3-6, 2011.

~ ~ ~

IASFM 13 Conference Website

IASFM 13 Call for Papers, Appel a Communications, Convocatoria Presentaciones

IASFM 13 Accommodation Options

IASFM 13 Grant application form

~ ~ ~

IASFM 13 Conference Rates

OECD and high income non-OECD:

Member rate Early   $300

Member rate Late   $400

Non-member rate Early   $500

Non-member rate Late   $600

Non-OECD and students:

Member rate Early   $150

Member rate Late   $200

Non-member rate Early   $350

Non-member rate Late   $450

Local participants:

Flat rate   $100

For more information about how to become a member and membership fees, visit the Membership page.

~ ~ ~

IASFM 13 Program Committee

Chair: Moses Chrispus Okello, chrispusmoses.okello@gmail.com, Refugee Law Project, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Rapporteur: Priyanca Mathur Velath, PhD Candidate, Centre for the Study of Law and Governance, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India

Jessica Anderson, jessica.luffman@gmail.com, African Centre for Migration and Society, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

Paula Banerjee, paula@mcrg.ac.in, Mahanirban Calcutta Research Group, Calcutta, India

Alexander Betts, alexander.betts@politics.ox.ac.uk, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Michael Collyer, m.collyer@sussex.ac.uk, University of Sussex, Brighton, UK

Chris Dolan, chris.dolan4@btinternet.com, Refugee Law Project, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Lucy Hovil, lucy@hovil.co.uk, International Refugee Rights Initiative, Cape Town, South Africa

Nishanie Jayamaha, nishaniej@yahoo.com, United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, Colombo, Sri Lanka

Danesh Jayatilaka, daneshj@hotmail.com

Zhou Jian, zhoujian@hhu.edu.cn, National Research Center for Resettlement, Hohai University, Nanjing, China.

Briony Jones, briony.jones@manchester.ac.uk, University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom

Martin David Jones, martindavidjones@gmail.com, University of York, York, UK

Amrita Lamba, alamba9@hotmail.com

Beth Mercurio, iasfmsecretariat@gmail.com, Institute for the Study of International Migration, Georgetown University, Washington, USA

Michele Millard, mmillard@yorku.ca, Centre for Refugee Studies, York University, Toronto, Canada

John Nassari, jnassari@btinternet.com, University of East London, London, UK

Phil Orchard, p.orchard@uq.edu.au, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

Tara Polzer, tara.polzer@wits.ac.za, African Centre for Migration and Society, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

Vasu Reddy, VasuReddy@hsrc.ac.za, Human and Social Development Research Programme, Human Sciences Research Council of South Africa, Pretoria, South Africa

Pilar Riaño-Alcalá, priano@interchange.ubc.ca, University of British Colombia, Vancouver, Canada

Fernando Serrano, josefernandoserrano@yahoo.com, Consultant, Bogotá, Colombia

Nomusa Taylor-Dube, nomusa@yorku.ca, Centre for Refugee Studies, Toronto, Canada

Irene Tumwebaze, irene.tumwebaze@gmail.com, Refugee Law Project, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda

Effie Voutira, voutira@uom.gr, University of Macedonia, Department of Balkan, Slavic and Oriental Studies, Thessaloniki, Greece

~ ~ ~

The IASFM 13 Conference Host

The host of the IASFM13 will be the Refugee Law Project (RLP), Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda. RLP was established in 1999 to provide legal aid to asylum seekers and refugees in Uganda. This was in response to an extensive research project led by Dr Barbara Harrell-Bond and Dr Guglielmo Verdirame. They found that, despite Uganda’s strong international reputation for providing asylum to refugees, refugees did not always enjoy their rights in accordance with domestic and international law.

Since then, the provision of legal aid has been supported by adding a psycho-social unit which provides clients with counseling and referrals on a range of non-legal matters, including sexual and gender based violence, access to medical care, housing and education. The provision of direct support is complemented by education and training activities. These are targeted both at duty bearers such as police, immigration officers, judges, magistrates and local government officials, and also at refugees themselves.

In particular, RLP has a well-established English language training program which helps refugees to speak on their own behalf in encounters with officials and Ugandan citizens. All these activities are supported by an active research and advocacy department which seeks to provide the necessary empirical support for any debate about policy and legislation, and to advocate on behalf of our client base.

Over the last ten years the focus of RLP has broadened. While RLP started by looking exclusively at the situation of refugees and asylum seekers, it has become increasingly important also to assist other forced migrants, notably Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and deportees. RPL has also found it important to consider the question of transitional justice as it affects forcibly displaced populations. As such, the overall focus of the RLP can now be described as Justice & Forced Migration.

You can find more information about the RLP by accessing the website www.refugeelawproject.org.