Lisa Gilad Prize

The Lisa Gilad Prize was established in memory of Lisa Gilad, social anthropologist, refugee status decision-maker, author of ethnographies of migration, and devoted member of the scholarly network that established the International Association for the Study of Forced Migration. Lisa Gilad died in a tragic accident in 1996, aged 38.

This prize honours a younger author and member of the International Association for the Study of Forced Migration who has published a particularly meritorious contribution to refugee studies in the Journal of Refugee Studies.


January 2013

  • Dr. Fiddian-Qasmiyeh – “The Pragmatics of Performance: Putting ‘Faith’ in Aid in the Sahrawi Refugee Camps.”

July 2011

  • Laurie Berg, Jenni Millbank (2009) – “Constructing the Personal Narratives of Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Asylum Claimants”

January 2008

  • Binoy Kampmark – “‘Spying for Hitler’ and ‘Working for Bin Laden’: Comparative Australian Discourses on Refugees”
  • Alice Szczepanikova – “Gender Relations in a Refugee Camp: A Case of Chechens Seeking Asylum in the Czech Republic”

January 2005

  • Jennifer Hyndman – “Preventive, Palliative or Punitive? Safe Spaces in Bosnia Herzegovina, Somalia and Sri Lanka”
  • Loren Landau – “Beyond the Losers: Transforming Governmental Practice in Refugee Affected Tanzania”

January 2003

  • Oliver Bakewell – “Repatriation and Self-Settled Refugees in Zambia: Bringing Solutions to the Wrong Problems”
Details of the Prize

1. At each biennial meeting of the IASFM, a prize shall be awarded to the author of an article published in one of the two immediately preceding volumes of the Journal of Refugee Studies. The prize shall be awarded to the author of the article adjudged to have made the most innovative and thoughtful contribution to the advancement of refugee studies.

2. Eligibility for the prize is based on the author’s age and membership status in the Association as of the date on which a qualifying manuscript is accepted for publication in the Journal of Refugee Studies. At that date, the author (or, in the case of a co-authored piece, the eligible author) must be less than 40 years of age, and be a member in good standing of the Association.

3. No application for the award shall be required. The President of the Association shall, by not later than four months preceding the holding of a biennial meeting of the Association, compile a list of qualifying articles. These include only full articles, not introductions, book reviews, or short notes or reports. The President shall appoint a Selection Committee of three respected refugee studies scholars, no two of whom shall be experts in the same disciplinary field. The Selection Committee shall review each of the eligible articles, and shall by not later than one month preceding the opening of the biennial meeting of the Association, communicate to the President the name of the individual adjudged by them to have authored the winning article.

4. An article written by more than one author is eligible for the Prize. If all authors of a multi-authored article are eligible to receive the Prize, it shall be awarded jointly to them (or to those of the authors who are eligible), with the prize money divided evenly among the eligible co-authors.

5. No person may receive the Lisa Gilad Prize more than once.

6. If there are no eligible authors, or if in the view of the Selection Committee no article qualifies on the basis of merit for the Lisa Gilad Prize, the Prize shall not be awarded for a given biennial cycle.

7. The winner of the Lisa Gilad Prize shall be announced in the pages of the Journal of Refugee Studies, with the Prize formally conferred at the next biennial meeting of the Association. The winner shall also receive a cash prize of US $350.

8. The terms or conditions of the Prize may be varied by motion of the President of the IASFM, approved by a majority vote of the members in attendance at a biennial meeting of the Association.

Explanatory Notes

The relationship with the Journal of Refugee Studies is proposed on the grounds that it is the primary scholarly journal in refugee studies which receives and publishes articles from all disciplines. It is also a journal with which the IASFM has had a long and continuing relationship, and in which Lisa Gilad took a particular interest. The restriction of eligible articles to those published in a single journal will ensure that the selection process remains a simple and transparent one, and that no weight is given in the selection process to the perceived relative prestige of the various journals in which refugee studies scholarship might appear.

An anonymous donor has committed to provide the prize money for the first decade of the award, that being $ 350 for each of the first five biennial awards.

Oxford University Press will (a) solicit date of birth information for manuscripts published, and to provide the same to the President of the Association in accordance with the timeline identified above; (b) to publicize the availability of the Lisa Gilad Prize in the pages of the Journal of Refugee Studies on a regular basis; and (c) formally to announce the winner of the Lisa Gilad Prize in the Journal of Refugee Studies.